Reply to topic

Kde Neon - Nvidia 418 - prime-select

mustafayaman
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Kde Neon - Nvidia 418 - prime-select

Sat Mar 30, 2019 11:11 am
Anybody knows that issue?

I installed nvidia 418 driver by driver repo. Everythink is normal when I used 390 driver in offical repo.

I can use my intel gpu switch naturaly. But when I tried to switch nvidia gpu "nvidia-smi" gonna work but it isnt rendering anythink and nvidia-settings give me only 2 option (Select intel , nvidia screen). If I logout and login one more time everythink is gonna working.

It isnt weird ?

Code: Select all
[email protected]:~$ inxi -Fx
System:    Host: Tuxy Kernel: 4.18.0-16-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.15.3 (Qt 5.12.0) Distro: KDE neon User Edition 5.15
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Micro-Star product: CX62 6QD v: REV:1.0 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Micro-Star model: MS-16J6 v: REV:1.0 serial: N/A
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: E16J6IMS.10C date: 01/17/2018
Battery    BAT1: charge: 39.4 Wh 96.1% condition: 41.0/42.4 Wh (97%) model: MSI MS-16J6 status: N/A
           hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh model: Logitech Touch Mouse T620 status: Discharging
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-6300HQ (-MCP-) arch: Skylake-S rev.3 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 18432
           clock speeds: max: 3200 MHz 1: 1041 MHz 2: 2155 MHz 3: 2204 MHz 4: 2223 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 530 bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GM108M [GeForce 940MX] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: [email protected]
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.8 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 100 Series/C230 Series Family HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.18.0-16-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Wireless 3165 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: 68:07:15:10:c9:67
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA8171 Gigabit Ethernet driver: alx port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: d8:cb:8a:f5:99:9a
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (1.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WDS120G2G0B size: 120.0GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: HGST_HTS721010A9 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 110G used: 14G (13%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 54.5C mobo: 27.8C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 205 Uptime: 25 min Memory: 1591.5/7888.5MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56
chan
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0
Possibly related:


All notebook NVIDIA GPUs support power management, both S3 (also known as "Standby" or "Suspend to RAM") and S4 (also known as "Hibernate", "Suspend to Disk" or "SWSUSP"). Power management is system-specific and is dependent upon all the components in the system; some systems may be more problematic than other systems.

Most recent notebook NVIDIA GPUs also support PowerMizer, which monitors application work load to adjust system parameters to deliver the optimal balance of performance and battery life. However, PowerMizer is only enabled by default on some notebooks. Please see the known issues below for more details.

http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L ... ssues.html
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L ... own-issues

The package nvidia-smi is only for monitoring GPU usage by your Nvidia card if proprietary drivers are installed. nvidia-prime gives the option to choose between Nvidia and Intel HD through nvidia-settings, but switching requires that you log out/reboot so that it can restart. Keeping the Nvidia card on is not too big of an issue because it will underclock itself when it's not needed.
mustafayaman
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
No. Thats not my point ;D

I mean I need to logout and login for twice to change intel to nvidia gpu :-\

My question on askubuntu. They said I need to use kde forum :/
https://askubuntu.com/questions/1129879 ... s-2-logout
NoNameNoBlame
Karma
0
It may be that either

the "sddm"- display manager's xserver
or
Plasma's xserver is not properly reset/restarted

after logging out of the desktop.

Code: Select all

This output is the man-page from FreeBSD,
because I have no KDE neon available, right now.


$ man Xserver | ul | sed -nE '/\-terminate...$|\-noreset...$/,/^$/p'

       -noreset
               prevents a server reset when the last client connection is closed.
               This overrides a previous -terminate command line option.

       -terminate
               causes the server to terminate at server reset, instead of
               continuing to run.  This overrides a previous -noreset command line
               option.



All xservers should do/have "-terminate".

Last edited by NoNameNoBlame on Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mustafayaman
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
NoNameNoBlame wrote:It may be that either

the "sddm"- display manager's xserver
or
Plasma's xserver is not properly reset/restartet

after logging out of the desktop.

Code: Select all

This output is the man-page from FreeBSD,
because I have no KDE neon available, right now.


$ man Xserver | ul | sed -nE '/\-terminate...$|\-noreset...$/,/^$/p'

       -noreset
               prevents a server reset when the last client connection is closed.
               This overrides a previous -terminate command line option.

       -terminate
               causes the server to terminate at server reset, instead of
               continuing to run.  This overrides a previous -noreset command line
               option.



All xservers should do/have "-terminate".


I understand but why with nvidia390 driver everything is normal?
Also on kubuntu 18.10 there is no problem.
NoNameNoBlame
Karma
0
What "driver"/"official" repositories are You talking about?
mustafayaman
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
NoNameNoBlame wrote:What "driver"/"official" repositories are You talking about?


There is nvidia390 driver by default. (Normal working)
Installed nvidia418 by graphic-driver ppa (Need 2 logout for intel to nvidia gpu)
NoNameNoBlame
Karma
0
"Installed nvidia418 by graphic-driver ppa"

1) How exactly?

2) Is this compatible with "Ubuntu 18.04 LTS"?
mustafayaman
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
NoNameNoBlame wrote:"Installed nvidia418 by graphic-driver ppa"

1) How exactly?

2) Is this compatible with "Ubuntu 18.04 LTS"?

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:graphics-drivers/ppa
sudo ubuntu-drivers autoinstall

Thats all.

And yes. Its compatible. I dont know why on neon its not working like on ubuntu
jonmagon
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
OS
I have the same problem too. My graphics card is GeForce 820M and this works only with nvidia-driver-390. If I install 396 or higher and do nvidia-settings it says "NVIDIA driver is not loaded". Did you find the solution?

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Kresimir, Yahoo [Bot]