Reply to topic

change print dialog window in firefox 70.0

executive
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0
Hi
Use KDE Neon 5.17.3.
To print in firefox 70.0 (ctrl + p) the print dialog window appears but it has limited options, I need to press (ctrl + p) the other print window used by the other distros with the same version of firefox.

sorry for my English.

Cheers
User avatar claydoh
Registered Member
Posts
499
Karma
5
OS
You need to add the Plasma Integration extension to Firefox


claydoh, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct, and KDE user since 2001
executive
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0
With the complement is the same.
When I press ctrl + p, this print window appears in Firefox 70.0.

https://ibb.co/KF9ZCBx

I need the other window.

Regards
User avatar claydoh
Registered Member
Posts
499
Karma
5
OS
You may have to find out what other distros have done to 'hack' FF to do this, or find an extension



https://www.ghacks.net/2019/07/23/how-t ... n-firefox/


claydoh, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct, and KDE user since 2001
executive
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0
Hi
Look, I have firefox 70.0 installed and pressing ctrl + p this window appears.

https://ibb.co/KF9ZCBx

Now install firefox ESR and pressing ctrl + p this window appears

https://ibb.co/1fkxSQM

I need the firefox esr window to appear in the firefox 70.0 window and pressing ctrl + p


Regards, please help me
User avatar claydoh
Registered Member
Posts
499
Karma
5
OS
Neon is using Ubuntu's packages for Firefox, and I can't find anything that would cause this, so far.
The print dialog in Kubuntu is the one you prefer, but I cannot tell what the differences between Neon and Kubuntu are that might cause this.

A suggestion might be to use a Snap or Flatpak version but these may not follow your dark theme without tweaks.


claydoh, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct, and KDE user since 2001
executive
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0
I'm looking and looking and nothing!
thunder422
Registered Member
Posts
45
Karma
0
OS
Looks like the print dialog has been significantly reorganized to make the initial dialog simpler. It doesn't appear to be a one to one mapping, but a lot of the former options on the various tabs have been moved under Properties (Propiedades) and Options >> (Opciones >>). What specific option(s) were you looking for?


Currently using KDE Neon 5.16 with Windows 10 in a VM; migrated from Linux Mint 17.3
User avatar claydoh
Registered Member
Posts
499
Karma
5
OS
I believe the OP wants the stock FF print dialog, as seen from his screenshot from the standalone ESR version, which is identical to the dialog you see in FF 70 as downloaded from Mozilla, or using a Snap, and in Kubuntu 19.10, as well as Kubuntu 18.04, the latter being the exact same package that Neon uses. So something in Neon is causing the dialog to change.

Personally, I like the compact one as it looks better, but I actually prefer the Print Preview dialog, which you can't get to using a keyboard shortcut without using an extension.
I would guess that the compact dialog in Neon is less keyboard friendly, perhaps.


claydoh, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct, and KDE user since 2001
executive
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0
Hi
I can't change this print dialog!
I need the dialogue with preview.
Can you send this suggestion any email from KDE developers? because apparently it is a problem of Neon since in other distros FF works without problems.

Regards
thunder422
Registered Member
Posts
45
Karma
0
OS
What preview are you looking for? On the old dialog, I don't see any preview except maybe Page Setup (Configuracion de pagina?) tab, but this just shows the dimensions and page ordering. This has been moved to Properties, Page tab. If you are talking about the full preview, you can get there by the Firebox menu (3 horizontal bars) and selecting Print...


Currently using KDE Neon 5.16 with Windows 10 in a VM; migrated from Linux Mint 17.3
sstaeglich
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
Try
Code: Select all
export GTK_USE_PORTAL=0 firefox
User avatar claydoh
Registered Member
Posts
499
Karma
5
OS
sstaeglich wrote:Try
Code: Select all
export GTK_USE_PORTAL=0 firefox

Did not work for me, which is why I did not suggest it :(


claydoh, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct, and KDE user since 2001
sstaeglich
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
Oh sorry, I've forgotten that there is a KDE neon hack. This should work:
Code: Select all
export GTK_USE_PORTAL=0 _neon.firefox
User avatar claydoh
Registered Member
Posts
499
Karma
5
OS
sstaeglich wrote:Oh sorry, I've forgotten that there is a KDE neon hack. This should work:
Code: Select all
export GTK_USE_PORTAL=0 _neon.firefox

Any links to more info?
Not working for me here at the moment, possible pepkac here, though ;)


claydoh, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct, and KDE user since 2001

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], reaperx3, Sogou [Bot]