Reply to topic

Call for Testing of KDE neon on Focal 20.04 base

scrawfuela
Registered Member
Posts
12
Karma
0
Hello,
Experiment 1: Install neon user from neon-user-20200702-1117.iso on /dev/sda3
Installation successful. Carried out instructions on Focal Upgrades page. Not presented with upgrade info box after logging back in.
Conclusion: Experiment 1 failed.

Experiment 2: install focal preview release from neon-user-20200703-1701.iso on /dev/sda5
Installation successful. Posting from fully upgraded install.
Conclusion: Experiment 2 passed.

Query: both neon user and the new focal install both, on reboot, take the OS right down to shutdown before rebooting.
My other linux (not ubuntu based) installation on /dev/sda4 reboots without a total shutdown.

Is this the usual behaviour for EFI booted neon installations?----edit: never mind figured it out

Best wishes,
hugh

System Details:

Code: Select all
System:    Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.19.3
           Distro: KDE neon 20.04 5.19 base: Ubuntu 20.04 LTS Focal
Machine:   Type: Desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Compaq Elite 8300 SFF v: N/A serial: <filter>
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 3397 serial: <filter> UEFI: Hewlett-Packard v: K01 v03.08
           date: 04/10/2019
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-3770 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Ivy Bridge rev: 9
           L2 cache: 8192 KiB
           flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 54273
           Speed: 1596 MHz min/max: 1600/3900 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1596 2: 1596 3: 1597 4: 1596 5: 1596
           6: 1596 7: 1596 8: 1596
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics vendor: Hewlett-Packard
           driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 4000 (IVB GT2) v: 4.2 Mesa 20.0.8 direct render: Yes
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard
           driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-40-generic
Network:   Device-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k
           port: f080 bus ID: 00:19.0
           IF: eno1 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 3.87 TiB used: 1.93 TiB (49.9%)
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: SSD 860 EVO 250GB size: 232.89 GiB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EAVS-32D7B1 size: 931.51 GiB temp: 27 C
           ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: Seagate model: Expansion Desk size: 2.73 TiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 43.20 GiB used: 4.89 GiB (11.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 33.0 C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:      Processes: 214 Uptime: 24m Memory: 15.51 GiB used: 2.52 GiB (16.3%) Init: systemd runlevel: 5
           Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.16 inxi: 3.0.38

Last edited by scrawfuela on Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar sgage
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
I did the upgrade as per the instructions. The upgrade process went very smoothly, exactly as described. On reboot, I was left at a grub> prompt. I chmodded in from a bootable USB and did an update-grub, which took care of the problem.

The only other oddness I've encountered so far is that every launching of konsole displays the error msg

Code: Select all
bash: hash: weboob-config: not found


before displaying the prompt. But konsole seems to work just fine. How can I make this message go away?
User avatar claydoh
Registered Member
Posts
625
Karma
5
OS
claydoh wrote:Confirm that plasma-nm is removed.


Code: Select all
[email protected]:~$ apt policy libqca-qt5-2
libqca-qt5-2:
  Installed: 2.2.1-2build1
  Candidate: 2.2.1-2build1
  Version table:
     2.3.0-0xneon+20.04+focal+build1 500
        500 http://archive.neon.kde.org/release focal/main amd64 Packages
 *** 2.2.1-2build1 1100
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal/universe amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


Upgrade on my Lenovo Flex 15 laptop


If this helps anyone at this point, the reason for removed items such as plasma-nm and others is a leftover pin settings from a file in /etc/apt/preferences.d/ called 99-xenial-overrides, which was not removed in the upgrade process. It kept some packages pinned to older versions, causing the dependency conflicts.
Deleting it allows the removed software to be installed. The leftover file is what is causing the dependency issues when trying to install software, and causing the removal of things like the networking widget ( plasma-nm).

Last edited by claydoh on Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.


claydoh, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct, and KDE user since 2001
visone
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0
OS
Hi!
I just upgrade neon to 20.04 and i have some issues

Any of the monitor widgets works
I had to install plasma-pa (sound icon on systray)
ksysguard is missing

Plasma 5.19.3
kernel 5.7.7
chris-on-neon
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
Upgraded an oldish Thinkpad T520i. No issues to report.
DozyDolphin
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
Tried to update by following the guide...

I am never prompted that there is a new version available after logging back in. Tried restarting as well.

I'm running:

Operating System: KDE neon 5.19
KDE Plasma Version: 5.19.3
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.71.0
Qt Version: 5.14.2
Kernel Version: 4.15.0-109-generic
OS Type: 64-bit
Processors: 4 × Intel® Core™ i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz
Memory: 3.7 GiB of RAM
Graphics Processor: Mesa DRI Intel® Sandybridge Mobile
RonH
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
I tried installing neon-user-20200709-0946.iso on my laptop but when I got the partitions screen there was no option for an encrypted lvm partition.

Image
User avatar catweazel
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0
Clean install with existing home directory. Absolutely perfect, no issues to report. Thank you to everyone involved.

Code: Select all
System:    Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.19.3 Distro: KDE neon 20.04 5.19 base: Ubuntu 20.04 LTS Focal
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: Zephyrus S GX531GWR_GX531GWR v: 1.0
           serial: <filter>
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: GX531GWR v: 1.0 serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends
           v: GX531GWR.305 date: 04/21/2020
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 53.6 Wh condition: 54.2/63.8 Wh (85%) model: ASUSTeK ASUS Battery
           status: Charging
           Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech MX Ergo Multi-Device Trackball
           charge: 100% (should be ignored) status: Discharging
CPU:       Topology: 6-Core model: Intel Core i7-9750H bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Kaby Lake
           rev: A L2 cache: 12.0 MiB
           flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 62399
           Speed: 1202 MHz min/max: 800/4500 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 4242 2: 4350 3: 4364
           4: 4291 5: 3998 6: 4350 7: 4295 8: 4487 9: 4318 10: 4396 11: 4309 12: 4376
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 630 vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 v: kernel
           bus ID: 00:02.0
           Device-2: NVIDIA TU106M [GeForce RTX 2070 Mobile] vendor: ASUSTeK driver: nvidia
           v: 440.100 bus ID: 01:00.0
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting,nvidia
           unloaded: fbdev,nouveau,vesa resolution: 3840x2160~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce RTX 2070 with Max-Q Design/PCIe/SSE2
           v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 440.100 direct render: Yes
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Cannon Lake PCH cAVS vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
           bus ID: 00:1f.3
           Device-2: NVIDIA TU106 High Definition Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel
           v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1
           Device-3: GN Netcom type: USB driver: jabra,snd-usb-audio,usbhid bus ID: 1-2.4.3:9
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-40-generic
Network:   Device-1: Intel Wireless-AC 9560 [Jefferson Peak] driver: iwlwifi v: kernel
           port: 4000 bus ID: 00:14.3
           IF: wlo1 state: down mac: <filter>
           Device-2: Realtek USB 10/100/1G/2.5G LAN type: USB driver: r8152 bus ID: 2-3:4
           IF: enxa0cec8cd3a68 state: up speed: 2500 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 953.87 GiB used: 17.66 GiB (1.9%)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Intel model: SSDPEKNW010T8 size: 953.87 GiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 39.17 GiB used: 6.00 GiB (15.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2
           ID-2: /home size: 93.37 GiB used: 11.61 GiB (12.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p3
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 39 C
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 2900
Info:      Processes: 305 Uptime: 2m Memory: 15.49 GiB used: 2.27 GiB (14.6%) Init: systemd
           runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.16 inxi: 3.0.38
albenson
Registered Member
Posts
34
Karma
1
Just completed the upgrade.

KDE Connect now has the same malfunction that it has in Kubuntu 20.04 since 20.04 was released.

When I pair my KDE Neon PCs, it unpairs itself if I refresh the view of devices or close and reopen the KDE Connect dialog. If I keep the dialog open so the pairing is retained, file transfers do not work... it just hangs with the transfer dialog forever on both ends.

It does the same with 20.04 on both ends (Kubuntu 20.04 or Neon/20.04) or if one is 20.04 and one is 18.04. Only both 18.04 works.

While the log is full of information about KDE Connect transfers in 18.04 to 18.04, there's pretty much nothing there with 20.04. I didn't see anything that looked useful in figuring out what happened. I suspect something having to do with the negotiation for the encryption, but beyond suspecting, I don't know how to figure it out.
albenson
Registered Member
Posts
34
Karma
1
When searching for text within files after the upgrade to 20.04 (User edition, all updates applied), kfind will become unresponsive. CPU utilization is idle when this happens, and attempting to close the application results in the fade to black and white and a dialog to terminate the unresponsive application.
javiercurbelo
Registered Member
Posts
22
Karma
0
Hello:

I like me be a tester, I have a free SSD disk for test. Please say me how I can a tester. Kde neon 20.04.

What version must I chose?

Testing, unstable or user?

Thanks.
komorebithrows
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
I've updated my notebook to 20.04. Had a Firefox package error, but finally got no issues. Everything works just fine.
User avatar boospy007
Registered Member
Posts
142
Karma
0
OS
I did not trust the graphical tool. So can i also use normal pkcon to upgrade my system?
milikitato
Registered Member
Posts
22
Karma
0
After clicking the "upgrade" button on the ubuntu notice window I get "fetching the upgrade failed. There may be network problems." and it quits after that.
milikitato
Registered Member
Posts
22
Karma
0
Hello,

There’s no software raid configuration in the partition section of installation, even when selecting “manual”.
This makes bootable software raid installation a real pain.

I had to manually do all the following before proceeding with the install:
---install mdadm
---create a partition (sda1) on a drive in preparation of the /boot folder
---create the raid 0 (/dev/md0) out of the other partitions/drives
---create a partition table on the raid 0 drive (/dev/md0) (otherwise the kde installer crashes, it can’t do it itself)
---create a partition on dev/md0 (otherwise the kde installer crashes trying to create it)

during installation of the os:
---select “manual” in the partition step of the installation
---select the dev/md0 partition created above and tick the “format it” and select to mount it as /
---select the sda1 partition created above, tick the “format it” and select to mount it as /boot
---proceed with the rest of the installation

At the end , do NOT reboot, otherwise the installation doesn’t work.
Find where the destination installation is located, mount it, “mount -- bind” some folders of the current active installation into the destination installation, copy some files into it, chroot to it, install mdadm, update-initramfs -u, exit and then reboot.

Compare, for example to the debian installer, the calamares/kde neon installer is a “nightmare”, way too simplistic. I’m lucky that I’ve found ,a long time ago, some information on how to create boot raid and that I could adapt it to this thing, otherwise I would have abandoned this thing.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], boblundgren, bruno666, funkyskywalker, Google [Bot], Lupccs, magkoc, Sogou [Bot], tazmo, tymond