Reply to topic

No sound after update to 20.04

User avatar Don B. Cilly
Registered Member
Posts
23
Karma
0
OS

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:50 pm
I've had this for long enough - say ten days - to see a consistent behaviour, where it seemed random.
If I leave the computer off for just a couple of hours, sound comes back OK.
If I leave it off all night, it comes back not working. Which is rather weird and unexplainable behaviour, but it's what I get.

I've made an alias to run the sound test, after which the device is recognised, so it's a minor annoyance... let's hope we get an update that fixes it soon, though.
Neon User 20.04.
danielcirco
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:31 pm
Don B. Cilly wrote:I've had this for long enough - say ten days - to see a consistent behaviour, where it seemed random.
If I leave the computer off for just a couple of hours, sound comes back OK.
If I leave it off all night, it comes back not working. Which is rather weird and unexplainable behaviour, but it's what I get.

I've made an alias to run the sound test, after which the device is recognised, so it's a minor annoyance... let's hope we get an update that fixes it soon, though.
Neon User 20.04.


Did you try the proposed fix/workaround? (downgrading pipewire)
kdejames
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:26 pm
I'm trying the downgrade as my lappies had pipewire-media-session -d bluez5 consuming 100% cpu randomly and no sound outputs apart from "Dummy Output".

After downgrade, I used "sudo apt-mark hold pipewire" to stop it upgrading, then pulseaudio -k and pulseaudio --start as user.
User avatar Don B. Cilly
Registered Member
Posts
23
Karma
0
OS

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Fri Sep 11, 2020 6:09 am
danielcirco wrote:Did you try the proposed fix/workaround? (downgrading pipewire)


No. I can't be bothered really. Hopefully it will be fixed soon :·)
rechapita
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:08 pm
It seems i have found a more permanent workaround.
I added this as an autostart entry:
Code: Select all
sh -c "systemctl --user stop pipewire;systemctl --user stop pipewire.socket"
joninchaurbe
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:43 am
claydoh wrote:Try running pulseaudio -k, then delete the ~/.config/pulse and any pulse related file in the top level of your home dir. This will cause all the sound detection and configs to be recreated.
You might have to run pulseaudio -k again after deleting the files.


It worked for me after a reboot, thanks.

Operating System: KDE neon 5.19 (based in Ubuntu 20.04)
KDE Plasma Version: 5.19.5
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.74.0
Qt Version: 5.15.0
Kernel Version: 4.15.0-117-generic (because under 5 series doesn't work suspending in my computer)
OS Type: 64-bit
Processors: 2 × Pentium® Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz- ACER Extensa 5635ZG
danielcirco
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:14 pm
rechapita wrote:It seems i have found a more permanent workaround.
I added this as an autostart entry:
Code: Select all
sh -c "systemctl --user stop pipewire;systemctl --user stop pipewire.socket"

I don't know where to add this line. Out of curiosity, where do yo add this line?

What I did was to make a bash script with those lines and one extra line and add it to autostart and also worked
Code: Select all
                                                                                               #/usr/bin/sh
systemctl --user stop pipewire;
systemctl --user stop pipewire.socket;
systemctl --user restart pulseaudio;

Will add it to the accepted solutions and workarounds.
JOEHONKEY
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
OS

Re: No sound after update to 20.04

Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:02 pm
Not sure why or what happened in my circumstance, but after the latest kernel upgrade and reboot: Somehow in Audio settings: "Audio" > "Advanced" > "Built-in Audio" Somehow after the upgrade and reboot it changed it to "Profile: Analog Stereo Input" it should be: "Profile: Analog Stereo Output".

Hopefully yours is this easy.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: agentx, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Drecker, Frousties, Google [Bot], hhc$, ipwizard, rblackwell, robgriff444, software, taxpayer, zachalexy