Reply to topic

Adding laguage to kde 4.1

moogy
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0

Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:03 pm
Hello

I would like to add some languages to version 4.1

I run an english system but I would need to be able to display Chinese, Korean, Japanese and French characters.

Dictionary install would be a good bonus to..

Thanks


moogy, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:18 am
Goto KMenu -> System Settings -> Reginal and Language -> Install New language. First it may install the language support and then it would show you a list of available languages you can add to it. After installing, you can select the language and click "Select System Language" to make it default.


moogy
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:21 pm
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Goto KMenu -> System Settings -> Reginal and Language -> Install New language. First it may install the language support and then it would show you a list of available languages you can add to it. After installing, you can select the language and click "Select System Language" to make it default.


Hello

I could not be doing this right... but these are the options I get.
System Settings -> Reginal and Language -> Add language.

I just have a choice of English and English.

This is the reason of my question


moogy, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:24 pm
Um, please read my previous post again :)

You have to install a language before you have it there. For that, you have to first click on Install New Language button.


moogy
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:29 pm
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Um, please read my previous post again :)

You have to install a language before you have it there. For that, you have to first click on Install New Language button.


Where is it... as I don't see it ????

http://www.securenet.net/members/jeremiel/test.jpeg

Last edited by moogy on Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.


moogy, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS
moogy
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:35 pm
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:You don't see these buttons?
http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/459/kde13yy8.jpg


I put an image in my previous post... I don't have that section...????


moogy, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Yes, I just saw your screenshot.
That is so strange. What is your distro?[hr]
Install these packages:
kde-l10n-zhtw, kde-l10n-ko, kde-l10n-ja and kde-l10n-fr packages, restart systemsettings and then check in the "Add language" menu.

Last edited by sayakb on Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.


moogy
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:54 pm
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Yes, I just saw your screenshot.
That is so strange. What is your distro?[hr]
Install these packages:
kde-l10n-zhtw, kde-l10n-ko, kde-l10n-ja and kde-l10n-fr packages, restart systemsettings and then check in the "Add language" menu.


Mandriva powerpack 2009


moogy, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:06 pm
Try installing the language packages and see if they appear.
Otherwise, run systemsettings as root from konsole and see if it works.


moogy
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:12 pm
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Try installing the language packages and see if they appear.
Otherwise, run systemsettings as root from konsole and see if it works.


WOW... again trouble

systemsettings crashes... I don't seem to find any language packages???

Very strange


moogy, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar JontheEchinda
KDE Developer
Posts
309
Karma
4
OS

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:20 pm
@LinuxIsInnovation.
The "install new languages" button is a Kubuntu-specific feature. It launches Kubuntu's language-pack installation tool.


JontheEchinda, proud to be a member of the Kubuntu team since July 2008.
Image
Image
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:21 pm
Maybe you don't have mandriva repos added. I have never worked with urpmi (always on debian based distros)
Try adding/enabling official repos and search for the packages again.


moogy
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:24 pm
I will look around but... I'm not holding my breath...


moogy, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Adding laguage to kde 4.1

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:29 pm
@JontheEchinda

Thanks for the info!
* sayakb didn't know that is was a Kubuntu patch :)



 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], gfielding, Google [Bot], ianp5a, nvieites, pewzers, rblackwell, Rytelier, semperlin, tymond, vpinon