Reply to topic

Mounting a device as user

moshi
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Mounting a device as user

Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:57 pm
Hi all,

I've got a little problem.
I've a NTFS external drive plugged using an eSATA cable.
I allowed my user to mount this partition.
Within a terminal it works well, but with Konqueror or D3lphin, I get a Permission denied response.

Usefull infos :

Code: Select all
Debian: unstable
KDE: 3.5.9

-rwsr-x--- 1 root fuse /usr/bin/ntfs-3g
-rwsr-xr-- 1 root fuse /usr/bin/fusermount
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root /usr/bin/kio_media_mounthelper*

$ ls -l /sbin/mount.ntfs*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root /sbin/mount.ntfs-3g -> /usr/bin/ntfs-3g
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root /sbin/mount.ntfs-fuse -> /usr/bin/ntfsmount


Code: Select all
my user is in the fuse group

fstab line :

[...]
LABEL=HappyData     /media/HappyData    ntfs-3g     rw,users,noauto,uid=1000,umask=007  0       0

drwxrwxr-x 2 root fuse /media/HappyData


Voila, if someone has an idea about what's missing, I'd be glade to know...

Thanks !

Last edited by moshi on Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Mounting a device as user

Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:15 pm
dolphin-kde4 has a fix for this problem.

Maybe you can try adding the partitions to automount by entering it into /etc/fstab ?


moshi
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

RE: Mounting a device as user

Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:19 pm
LinuxIsInnovation wrote:dolphin-kde4 has a fix for this problem.

I mostly use Konqueror, I'm not sure this comes from d3lphin itself

LinuxIsInnovation wrote:Maybe you can try adding the partitions to automount by entering it into /etc/fstab ?

It already is in it. The second part of my CODE is hidden. The fstab is in it.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Mounting a device as user

Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:27 pm
Strange, the fstab entry seems pretty fine. Try using this instead:
Code: Select all
/dev/sdaX       /media/disk     ntfs-3g     defaults     0       0


But before that, create a folder "disk" inside /media

Use:
Code: Select all
fdisk -l

..to see the /dev/sdaX device link for the drive.


moshi
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

RE: Mounting a device as user

Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:17 pm
I don't think the fstab line is a problem.
When I use the following command as user (id 1000) in a terminal the disk is mounted correctly.

Code: Select all
mount -L HappyData


For me the problem is due to a bad KDE configuration or missing access somewhere. It just cannot point it out.
User avatar SeaJey
Registered Member
Posts
166
Karma
0
OS

RE: Mounting a device as user

Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:51 am
I have the same problem:
In my main kubuntu installation I can mount external devices (such as flashdrives and USB-HDD) in Dolphin as a user, but in openSUSE installed on second harddrive I can not do this - only as root. Dolphin says something about HAL and insufficient rights.


kubuntu 10.04 AMD64 - KDE 4.4
AMD - radeonHD - M-Audio revolution 5.1
User avatar Riinse
Registered Member
Posts
167
Karma
2
OS

RE: Mounting a device as user

Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:10 am
that means is has to be fixed in HAL


Riinse, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar sayakb
Administrator
Posts
1973
Karma
12
OS

RE: Mounting a device as user

Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:54 am
@OP

What distro do you use?
I reported a bug for Kubuntu long time back: https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/281587
(which is a duplicate of this bug).
This was fixed for Kubuntu, although I don't know whether it was pushed/reported upstream.


moshi
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

RE: Mounting a device as user

Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:20 pm
What distro do you use?


I'm using debian.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], claydoh, Google [Bot], irvingarrietavazquez, jmacleod, koffeinfriedhof, lagunacreek, matemat, quisimodo, sanecito, semper, Sogou [Bot], steveblezy, Yahoo [Bot]