Reply to topic

intel dual head (extended desktop) not possible

nightfrost
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
Edit: Really sorry, I accidently posted this in a completely wrong section, and I'm not sure how to move it. Can someone please do that? Thanks. And, again, sorry...


Hi all,

I'm not sure if this entry is in the correct section, I hope it is.

I've been googling for this and am very surprised to not find anything, so I'm guessing I have the search terms wrong. If not, I'd be happy to file a bug.

There doesn't seem to be a way in KDE to setup a dual head screen in extended mode (e.g. xrandr --output LVDS --left-of --VGA) in the Display configuration utility of systemsettings. At least not on intel hardware. That seems kind of weird to me as the utility has been there for a long time. Of course it's possible from the command line and with the gnome display settings utility.

Any ideas?

Last edited by nightfrost on Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.


nightfrost, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19759
Karma
86
OS
Thread moved, no problem. ( Feel free to use the Report button on your post to inform Moderators of these things )

If you expand the individual connection options then there should be a variety of options available, one of which is "Display position" I believe.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
nightfrost
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
bcooksley wrote:Thread moved, no problem. ( Feel free to use the Report button on your post to inform Moderators of these things )

If you expand the individual connection options then there should be a variety of options available, one of which is "Display position" I believe.


Thanks for moving the thread, and for the tip regarding the report button.

I don't seem to have the "Display position" option anywhere in the setting window. I've tried this with KDE 4.2.x on both Archlinux and Ubuntu. Just to make sure it wasn't fixed already in the beta1 of 4.3, I installed the upcoming version of ubuntu to find out. Still no luck. Here's a screenshot:

https://dl.getdropbox.com/u/175461/display-settings.png

The DVI1 connection (which I do no utilize) seem to have that option. But not LVDS and VGA.


nightfrost, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19759
Karma
86
OS
This appears to be a bug in the KCM, which only displays those controls for displays which are disabled ( therefore useless ) Please file a bug report at bugs.kde.org if one does not already exist.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
nightfrost
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
bcooksley wrote:This appears to be a bug in the KCM, which only displays those controls for displays which are disabled ( therefore useless ) Please file a bug report at bugs.kde.org if one does not already exist.


Bug filed: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=195649

I regularly file bugs (for other projects, I'm pretty new with KDE). The reason I've been hesitant with this one is because I can't imagine being the first person to encounter it. I'm guessing lots of people use an extended desktop setup, and this bug (if it indeed is a bug) has been there since 4.0. :undecided:


nightfrost, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
vinayvinay
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
OS

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], claydoh, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Sogou [Bot]