Reply to topic

[SOLVED] KDEInit launch error

User avatar Alec
Registered Member
Posts
565
Karma
1
OS

[SOLVED] KDEInit launch error

Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:54 pm
For some reason when I start Konsole from an icon on the panel, it often times starts and shows a dialog:

Sorry - Plasma Workspace

KDEInit could not launch '/usr/kde/4.2/bin/konsole'.


I tried removing the icon and then re-adding it, but it does not help - it launches fine from Kickoff, but when it starts from the panel, it starts with that message...

Anyone have that problem before or what could be causing it?

It did not happen in the RC.

Thanks in advance!


Get problems solved faster - get reply notifications through Jabber!
User avatar ivan
KDE Developer
Posts
916
Karma
14
OS

[SOLVED] 0  Topic is solved

Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:37 am
It is a not-yet-hunted-and-killed bug in kdelibs. (IIRC, it used to show up every now and then even before 4.0)


Image
User avatar Alec
Registered Member
Posts
565
Karma
1
OS

[SOLVED] 0

Fri Jan 30, 2009 2:36 pm
Is there some way I could help because I can reproduce this pretty much any time I launch Konsole and I already have another one open.

Also, it's a bit odd that I didn't hit this bug in 4.2 RC or Beta 2...


Get problems solved faster - get reply notifications through Jabber!
User avatar Alec
Registered Member
Posts
565
Karma
1
OS

[SOLVED] 0

Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:29 pm
Gentoo released an update with a patch that solves the problem.


Get problems solved faster - get reply notifications through Jabber!
blackhole
Registered Member
Posts
74
Karma
0
OS

Re: [solved] 0

Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:11 pm
Alec wrote:For some reason when I start Konsole from an icon on the panel, it often times starts and shows a dialog:

Sorry - Plasma Workspace

KDEInit could not launch '/usr/kde/4.2/bin/konsole'.


I tried removing the icon and then re-adding it, but it does not help - it launches fine from Kickoff, but when it starts from the panel, it starts with that message...

Anyone have that problem before or what could be causing it?

It did not happen in the RC.

Thanks in advance!


I have exactly the same problem on my Arch Linux machine with the latest KDE 4.2. Does anyone know how to solve this? It's really anoying.

TIA,
Blackhole

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Belliric, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], leodd, Yahoo [Bot]