Reply to topic

[SOLVED] Lancelot - KDE 4.2.1 & QT 4.5

User avatar KejPi
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS
Hi,
After KDE and QT upgrade I have some problem with Lancelot. It is not possible to browse though applications categories. If I click to any application category e.g. Multimedia, only the icon appears on top of left column but the contents of current view is not changed. Maybe it is clearer from screenshot, on the left there is normal lancelot view, on the right side there is how my lancelot looks like after entering multimedia application's category.

Image

Does anybody have the same problem? How can I fix it?
There was no problem in KDE 4.2.0 + QT 4.4

Thanks in advance!


KejPi, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar TheBlackCat
Registered Member
Posts
2945
Karma
8
OS
This is a known problem in Lancelot with Qt 4.5. It has been fixed in trunk, I believe.


Man is the lowest-cost, 150-pound, nonlinear, all-purpose computer system which can be mass-produced by unskilled labor.
-NASA in 1965
User avatar KejPi
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS
Thanks for your answer. I haven't found any bugreport for that. Do you know if some patch exists for that somewhere? I removed Lancelot now but it I don't like kickoff too much - Lancelot is much better.


KejPi, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
it's probably buried in this thread http://forum.kde.org/lancelot-brainstor ... 15049.html


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar ivan
KDE Developer
Posts
916
Karma
14
OS
Unfortunately, I don't have the time to backport (and test) only the layout related changes needed for Qt 4.4.4 and 4.5, and, especially, to test whether the patched versions work with the old Qt.

The bug report is here: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=182818

If anyone makes a patch, please let me know.

The appropriate steps are to report the issue to your distro and to ask them to backport the changes (that is what distros should do anyway - make sure that the packages they ship work well).


Image
User avatar KejPi
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS
ivan wrote:Unfortunately, I don't have the time to backport (and test) only the layout related changes needed for Qt 4.4.4 and 4.5, and, especially, to test whether the patched versions work with the old Qt.

The bug report is here: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=182818

If anyone makes a patch, please let me know.

The appropriate steps are to report the issue to your distro and to ask them to backport the changes (that is what distros should do anyway - make sure that the packages they ship work well).


OK, thanks for the answer. I have removed lancelot from my panel, looking forward to working Lancelot in 4.3 and marking this thread as solved.


KejPi, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar ivan
KDE Developer
Posts
916
Karma
14
OS
Heh, I've just noticed that you use Gentoo. Lancelot will probably be fixed in G soon - Markos Chandras is working on it :)


Image
User avatar KejPi
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS
ivan wrote:Heh, I've just noticed that you use Gentoo. Lancelot will probably be fixed in G soon - Markos Chandras is working on it :)


Great news, I'm really missing Lancelot :'(


KejPi, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar KejPi
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS
If anyone interested, Lancelot patch is currently in Gentoo KDE overlay and seems to work correctly. I have Lancelot back in my panel :-)

You can get it here.


KejPi, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], dbergstein, Google [Bot], KayshiAri, Majestic-12 [Bot], Sentinel, Snudl