Reply to topic

KMyMoney & no stock quotes

warrenf
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:51 pm
Sorry if this is the wrong forum. I'm using kmymoney on ubuntu & in the past 2 days I have not been able to update stock quotes from yahoo. I tried several of the other listed menu sources & none of them work either. Has yahoo quit allowing download quotes & if so is there an alternative source that does work & is in the software as choice? Thanks

Note that today I added the "Google" option to the menu list using the URL http://finance.google.com/finance/info?client=ig&q=%1 & that also no longer works.

Last edited by warrenf on Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ssanderson
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:22 am
You are not alone! I am using KMyMoney4 on Mac OS X (MacPorts). Yahoo quotes has not been working for the past two days (after years of flawless service).
The received message is
"Access denied to http://download.finance.yahoo.com/d/quo ... CX&f=sl1d1.
Unable to update price for DIFCX (empty quote data)"

When I paste the url into a browser window, Yahoo responds with
"It has come to our attention that this service is being used in violation of the Yahoo Terms of Service. As such, the service is being discontinued. For all future markets and equities data research, please refer to finance.yahoo.com."

Any help or suggestion would be much appreciated!

Thanks
mcarpino
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:32 am
Someone smarter than me has a solution and this is what I used to start getting stock quotes again. I posted this in case others search here for a solution.

First go to Settings > Configure KMyMoney > Online Quotes > New

Change New Quote Source to Google

In the URL box add https://finance.google.com/finance?q=%1

In the Symbol box add %1

In the Price box add "price"\s+content="((\d+|\d{1,3}(?:[,]\d{3})).\d+)

In the Date box add "quoteTime"\s+content="(\d{4}-\d{2}-\d{2})T

In the Date Format add %y-%m-%d

Check the Skip HTML stripping box

Click Update box

Now go to each stock and change the source to "Google" then you be able to update the stock price.
warrenf
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:07 pm
Thanks for the reply mcarpino. The URL you supplied is slightly different from the one I had that wasn't working. I modified my url but it still doesn't work .... I get the reply
Could not start process Unable to create io-slave: klauncher said: Unknown protocol ''. .
Unable to update price for TSE:AGU (empty quote data)

It appears that both Yahoo & Google no longer support downloads ... at least using the url's that I've tried.
User avatar ipwizard
KDE Developer
Posts
455
Karma
1
OS

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:14 pm
warrenf wrote:Thanks for the reply mcarpino. The URL you supplied is slightly different from the one I had that wasn't working. I modified my url but it still doesn't work .... I get the reply
Could not start process Unable to create io-slave: klauncher said: Unknown protocol ''. .
Unable to update price for TSE:AGU (empty quote data)

It appears that both Yahoo & Google no longer support downloads ... at least using the url's that I've tried.

This problem is a local problem on your computer and has nothing to do with the support of downloads. You never reach the server due to this problem.


ipwizard, proud to be a member of the KMyMoney forum since its beginning. :-D
openSuSE Leap 42.2 64bit, KF5
warrenf
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:06 pm
Thanks for the reply ipwizard. I'm not sure why you say it is a local problem & I'm not reaching the server.
If I directly enter the url address into my browser it takes me directly to the correct google financial quote.
https://finance.google.com/finance?q=tse.ac

When used in mymoney the above error was reported. Doesn't that indicate that the server is being reached but will not download the data? Note that all fields were populated as per mcarpino's suggestions.
Thanks
mcarpino
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:36 pm
Is the Skip HTML stripping box checked?
warrenf
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:47 pm
"Is the Skip HTML stripping box checked?"

yes it is.
mcarpino
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:15 am
I updated my pricing to see if it still worked and it did. When I posted the instructions I copy and pasted the details directly from my details page. So there must be something that isn't set right. I would recommend that you copy each line in my instructions and paste them again then update. Then verify Investment options > edit investment > investment detail wizard is set to Google for the stock.

It should work for you if it's working for me.
mcarpino
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:23 am
Forget my recommendation. I figured out it looks like you're running Linux. In that case look here for your solution. https://www.google.com/search?q=Could+n ... e&ie=UTF-8

Last edited by mcarpino on Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
ssanderson
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:33 am
I applied the "google fix" and was pleased to see the quotes update. However, I did this on Nov. 3, and the date reported in the list was Nov. 2. The quotes had not been updated since the last working Yahoo update. Today (Nov 6) I ran the update again. No errors were reported. However, the date associated with the quotes was still Nov 2, and from all appearances, nothing was updated. Maybe I'm expecting too much!

I am running KMM on Mac OS 10 (Sierra) through MacPorts. Suggestions much appreciated!
d52fr
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:58 pm
Thanks to mcarpino. :)
I changed the information as he gave it.
Test on 2 shares was successful.
Just a point : as a french user, I kept the Date format : %m %d %y previously used with Yahoo Finance. No trouble.
ssanderson
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:22 am
Thanks d52fr- I changed the date format as you suggested in your post. Updates now appear to be working.

Thanks also to all who commented!
mbeenham
Registered Member
Posts
94
Karma
0
OS

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:13 am
I've populated my online stock quote field as per mcarpino (many thanks), but get the following error when trying an online update:
Fetching URL https://finance.google.com/finance?q=AZN.L...
Unable to update price for AZN.L (no price or no date)

I am running Linux, but cannot identify a "Google fix" from the URL provided.
I'm happy to dig in and try to find the cause of this issue, but if anybody has solved this problem already I'd appreciate a steer.


Linux Mint 17.2
KMyMoney Version 4.7.2
Using KDE Development Platform 4.14.2
mcarpino
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0

Re: KMyMoney & no stock quotes

Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:29 pm
mbeenham Google recognizes AstraZeneca plc with a different symbol than yahoo. Yahoo requires the symbol AZN.L and it appears that Google looks for this symbol LON:AZN Try changing the trading symbol to LON:AZN I think it will work. Here's the web link for the stock as a reference https://finance.google.com/finance?q=LON:AZN

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], claydoh, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], jehojakim2, johnguicar, Majestic-12 [Bot], ScottBeebiWan, Sogou [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]