Reply to topic

Internet indicator

3

Votes
3
0
nasked
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Internet indicator

Sat Mar 01, 2014 11:31 pm
In windows we can check internet connection when planet earth is in colour, if there are any problem to stablish connection, we can see a Tv with a yellow signal. In my job i need to confirm if i've internet connection or i'm only connected to the LAN. I know that i can make a ping Ej: google.com but it would be easier to check it in a network manager indicator.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
5729
Karma
18
OS

Re: Internet indicator

Sat Mar 01, 2014 11:52 pm
the network management widget (plasma-nm) in the system tray or standalone widget indicates a connection or not, it can be enabled with system tray settings or added to the desktop or panel with add widgets


OpenSuse 13.2 x64, KDE 4.14.x & Plasma 5.x

User avatar arkascha
Registered Member
Posts
56
Karma
0
OS

Re: Internet indicator

Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:21 am
google01103 wrote:the network management widget (plasma-nm) in the system tray or standalone widget indicates a connection or not, it can be enabled with system tray settings or added to the desktop or panel with add widgets


I think you missed the point of this suggestion: the OP makes a difference between a connection to "the LAN" (which is what the NM applet shows) and a usable connection to "the internet" (which is _not_ indicated by that applet).

I second the OPs opinion that this would be a very valuable information that should be right at hand. However I also feel that this is not that trivial to implement. So how do you actually test if there _is_ a usable connection to the internet? What _is_ "the internet" actually? I mean just try to answer that in a precise manner...
User avatar Arjun AK
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0

Re: Internet indicator

Sun Jun 22, 2014 1:24 pm
arkascha wrote:
google01103 wrote: So how do you actually test if there _is_ a usable connection to the internet? What _is_ "the internet" actually? I mean just try to answer that in a precise manner...


You could ping 8.8.8.8. If google is down you have got bigger problems
User avatar arkascha
Registered Member
Posts
56
Karma
0
OS

Re: Internet indicator

Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:00 am
arkascha wrote:
So how do you actually test if there _is_ a usable connection to the internet? What _is_ "the internet" actually? I mean just try to answer that in a precise manner...

Arjun AK wrote:
You could ping 8.8.8.8. If google is down you have got bigger problems


Easy and straight forward, but not really a solution:
* what if google decides to block ping requests? All KDE desktops are suddenly broken? Not good...
* this would mean that all KDE desktops always and repeatedly ping that ip address. I would not be amused if I were their administrator. In other words: this is a pretty aggressive and unacceptable strategy.
Instead some more flexible and broader based "test suite" would be required. Something that orientates more on the users habits too, that the test is more individual. First (and best) thing would be to centrally evaluate all already existing connection attempts done in background an a periodic base: akonadi, NTP client, irc, ... And in case of doubt the test suite could still fall back to active tests to get a clear information about the current situation. This might also make sense for an initial test...
Lachu
Registered Member
Posts
337
Karma
1
OS

Re: Internet indicator

Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:03 am
What makes "search" command in /etc/resolv.conf?

I think, it will define domain to ping.


Lachu, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar arkascha
Registered Member
Posts
56
Karma
0
OS

Re: Internet indicator

Fri Oct 17, 2014 6:13 pm
Lachu wrote:What makes "search" command in /etc/resolv.conf?
I think, it will define domain to ping.


Not really. It tries to "guess" the domain of a hostname that is not fully qualified. So that if you do a "ping mysystem" inside your local network the system will try the combinations of that hostname and all domains specified in the search command, so mysystem.local, mysystem.hubby.local, mysytem.somedomain.org
This is helpful, but has nothing to do with the problem discussed here I am afraid...

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Andreas Mair, andreas_k, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], capslock, dimitr, einar, Google [Bot], kamathraghavendra, koriun, Majestic-12 [Bot], metzman, paulus3005, rv8ter, sredna, veqz, YaCy [Bot], Yahoo [Bot], zekthedeadcow