Reply to topic

Using LightScribe via k3b.

fgarcia
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Using LightScribe via k3b.

Fri May 25, 2012 2:29 pm
Hello, so I have understood, the LaCie Web site makes clear that its software has been tested LightScribe technology to use with k3b.
How I can use k3b to label LightScribe discs? Is it possible?
Thank you very much, greetings.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19746
Karma
85
OS

Re: Using LightScribe via k3b.

Sat May 26, 2012 10:06 am
Does Lacie provide any documentation with regards to this?
I was not aware that K3b supported Lightscribe. I suspect it would need the appropriate burning software installed for it to be able to do this however.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
fgarcia
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Re: Using LightScribe via k3b.

Sat May 26, 2012 6:10 pm
Mmmmm, I think that k3b supports LightScribe, please, look at this: http://k3b.plainblack.com/download (at the end of the page) and this http://www.lacie.com/products/product.htm?id=10204 . Moreover, I've read about in the Web page of LaCie and is clear that yo can use it with k3b, I have read it too in other webs, but I don't know the method to do it: http://www.lacie.com/company/news/news.htm?id=10293 .
Thanks, greetings.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
5835
Karma
20
OS

Re: Using LightScribe via k3b.

Sat May 26, 2012 7:38 pm
you should get the sw from lightscribe site as it seems a bit fresher (2010) and it has .deb and .rpm packages http://www.lightscribe.com/downloadSect ... index.aspx

here's a couple of install/use tutorials:
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/installing-li ... beler.html
http://principialabs.com/lightscribe-on-ubuntu/


OpenSuse 13.2 x64, KDE 4.14.x & Plasma 5.x

fgarcia
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Re: Using LightScribe via k3b.

Sun May 27, 2012 11:53 am
Ok, I've done all things that you have told, but I had done the same procedure before you explained to me. But my problem is that I have understood that is possible to unifying the programs LaCie and k3b, and I don't know how.
Thanks.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
5835
Karma
20
OS

Re: Using LightScribe via k3b.  Topic is solved

Sun May 27, 2012 12:16 pm
maybe they don't integrate as you expect, the article read might have been misleading

one of the tutorials says:
"6. Remove the CD/DVD media and FLIP!
7. Use K3b (or your favorite burner program) to burn data on your new hella-cool custom disc!"

the LaCie website says "Perfect complement to K3b - CD/DVD Kreator (link to http://www.k3b.org/)" , compliment does not imply integration

see http://linux.derkeiler.com/Mailing-List ... 00216.html

on the K3b site it just says "get", no mention of integration

As LaCie is not the author of the sw you should go to the LightScribe site and post on their forums


OpenSuse 13.2 x64, KDE 4.14.x & Plasma 5.x

fgarcia
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

Re: Using LightScribe via k3b.

Sun May 27, 2012 12:48 pm
Well, ok, it's possible, I will consider the issue as resolved because they may be right. But I am surprised that so many websites to make emphasizes both k3b and none for the Gnome desktop. And in Some Other pages I have read the Same About k3b and LaCie.
Thanks, greetings.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Artmessiah, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], cgehman, Exabot [Bot], flherne, Google [Bot], google01103, kwanzapili, louis94, rafafuee, salimtn, ScionicSpectre, Soukyuu, sparhawk, supaiku, Uri_Herrera, Yahoo [Bot]