This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[SOLVED] Survey for users to effect behavior of File Transfe

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
sreich
KDE Developer
OS
Hello my fellow KDE users,

I am a KDE developer that currently needs help in trying to determine the best behavior of an option in the KDE File Transfer Dialog, for usability's sake.

This dialog is seen when you copy, move, delete, or do any real operation on files or directories, in a file manager, i.e. Dolphin, Konqueror, etc.

The outcome of this survey, i.e. the percentage of people who use it, will effect 1.) the default setting when it is opened, and 2.) whether or not it is hidden by default, or shown by default (when the dialog is expanded or collapsed (latter is default)).

http://picasaweb.google.com/predator106 ... 7509417314

The above is the checkbox that I am talking about.

Now, please take this poll and post to the thread with the answer following question (basically only if you use this feature, or want to):

[size=medium]If you will use this option, or do.. Explain to me why you would use this option. What is the situation that you are in, when you use this? Prove to me why this option should be here.[/size]

Hopefully there will be enough responses and opinions to come to a decision on which should be the default, and if this option should be hidden or not(to unhide it you would have to click a second button, to expand the dialog). So, tell everyone you know. :)

I am hoping that I was clear enough and explained this correctly.

Thank you for your time,

Shaun Reich

Last edited by sreich on Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
neverendingo
Administrator
OS
I never used this option simply because the only info i need is the action's progress. Everything else can be handled in dolphin for me.

New to KDE Software? - get help from Userbase or ask questions on the Forums
Communicate.
bcooksley
Administrator
OS