This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Thin QR decomposition?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
tholy
Registered Member
OS

Thin QR decomposition?

Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:40 pm
First, since I'm new to both Eigen and this forum let me begin by saying that I'm very impressed with Eigen. Great performance and a great API are (in my experience) surprisingly difficult to achieve simultaneously, yet you've done it. Thanks for making this terrific tool available.

I have the following problem. I'm interested in "orthonormalizing" a set of N vectors in d dimensions; I have to do this over and over again, for different vectors (and even different N), so I'd like to do it efficiently. I presume that QR decomposition is the right tool. (An alternative is: compute the covariance matrix, compute its Cholesky decomposition, and then calculate the conceptual equivalent of R.inv()*x. But this becomes unpleasant if the covariance matrix is ill-conditioned, which happens often enough to be worrisome, particularly if N is not much bigger than d.)

I wrote the following test program:

#include <iostream>
#include <Eigen/QR>

using namespace std;
using namespace Eigen;

int main()
{
MatrixXf A = MatrixXf::Random(15,2);
ColPivHouseholderQR<MatrixXf> qrdecomp(A);
MatrixXf Q = qrdecomp.householderQ();
cout << "Q:\n" << Q << endl;
}

This program generates 15 data points in 2 dimensions, and then orthonormalizes them. However, the orthonormalized output Q is a 15-by-15 matrix. For my purposes, I'm only interested in the first two columns (otherwise known as the "thin QR decomposition"), and indeed those columns are the only ones that are unique because of zeros in R. Since I sometimes do this for N = 10000 (or more) data points, it would seem those extra columns would eat up an awful lot of unnecessary storage (and presumably computation time).